To the Dearly Departed

when the news came in that you are no longer with us; I couldn’t believe it neither of us could, so your sister called again hoping to confirm that it was just a false alarm but the wailing in the background continued to confirm it. I didn’t want to believe it still so I called auntie and still she had the same news so it began to sink in but still I could not believe it I called mum and still got the same news… It slowly started to dawn on me that you are no more; still to this point I do not want to believe that when talking about you we’ll start referring to you as “She was” and not “she is”.
In the midst of my denial I asked God why He had to take you but then I remembered 1 Thessalonians 5:18

in everything give thanks; for this is the will of God in Christ Jesus for you.

I instead I started thanking God for letting me meet you and letting you be with us believing that the purpose that He had for you on this earth you had fulfilled. I thank God for the comfort and the strength that He is continuing to give us during this time believe me auntie it’s not easy for days I was dazed, confused, and didn’t know what to make of it.

I still pray to God that He grant us His mercies and comforts us especially those closest to you; Your husband, your daughters, your dad, your sisters and brother, your cousins, your nieces and nephews, your colleagues, and pupils.

Auntie you have left a lot of sadness, sorrow, a huge void but that is not the only thing you have left; you have left a legacy, a legacy that tell those left behind that in life we are at war and in our day to day battles we must struggle to survive. You ailed for a while but for the sake of your daughters, husband, and family you fought on, you changed your lifestyle, your food just to make sure that you have another day with your family, another day to pass on something to us when we needed advice and some knowledge to those you taught. Your passing is not a lost battle but a story of courage to encourage me and many others that as long as there is life the will to live shall prevail. I thank God for the impact you’ve had in our lives.

As we lay you to rest this weekend; I pray to God that you have found real rest now that you are finally home say hi to those who went before you and tell them that they are also being dearly missed.

hqdefault

God be with you till we meet again. Tsia no omulembe Mama Monica.

Leave a Reply

